DeMotte Christian Schools is a parent-run school system. We rely on our school society to help us elect members of the school board who collectively make important decisions about our schools.

School board members typically serve a three year term and meet often throughout the year to address the needs of the schools.

2020-2021 School Board Members

President, Executive Committee Member
Derek Terpstra

Vice President, Education Committee Member
Tawnya Roodzant

Treasurer, Finance Committee Member
Dave Bykerk

Secretary, Public Relations Committee Member
Liz Bayci

Building & Grounds/Transportation Committee Members
Jim Zeilenga, Tim Dyke

Public Relations Committee Member
Julie Walstra

Education Committee Member
Rachel Van Vlymen

Standing Members
Superintendent, Devon Brinks
CCHS Principal, Rick DeFries


The Parents in Education Committee helps raise and manage funds to offset tuition costs, purchase items for the schools, and support teachers as they plan student activities and purchase necessary classroom supplies.

The PIE Committee meets monthly to ensure that fundraisers are staffed by parent volunteers and running smoothly. Please contact a PIE member or the school office if you have fundraiser ideas and/or suggestions.


Lisa Birkett

Dana Vander Molen

Committee Members
Stacy Diener-DMC Fundraising Liaison
Amber Hilton-DMC Teacher Service
Gayle James-CCHS Teacher Service
Ross Peterson-CCHS Fundraising Liaison
Jason Putman-DMC Fundraising Liaison
Brandi Winter-Grant/Scholarship
Sarah Hamstra-Harvest Sale Liaison

For a full list of standing committees and members, please contact the school office or consult the annual Parent Directory.